Archive for November 14, 2011

YouTube’s new look

Posted: November 14, 2011 in Research

First Facebook gets a facelift and now YouTube is trying to look new and fresh!

When I logged into YouTube to upload my “Experiment in Web Design or Nonprint Presentation” assignment I noticed that  I had to link my Google account with my YouTube account before I could access it. Luckily because I a Winthrop e-mail account I have a Google account so linking it was no problem. At first I was not bothered by YouTube making changes to their site because I understand that technology is continually striving to be better then the other guy and if they don’t stay updated or at least appear to be updating then they could lose viewers. However I lost my zen very quickly! After I uploaded my video I noticed a problem.. Somehow by linking my account something glitched within YouTube and the video I posted for my Literacy Narrative is now under a different channel name.. YouTube inverted my user name so now I no longer have access to the video I uploaded prior to the change.

Doug Gross, wrote an article on the CNN website about this new look for YouTube and after reading it I realized that not everyone has had to deal with this change. Evidently only a select few have been subjected to testing this change. Something else that became clear when reading Gross’ article was that I shouldn’t feel slighted by the fact that YouTube hasn’t responded to my complaint about this problem, because they wouldn’t even respond to Gross, who was writing an article for CNN about the update. YouTube and Google have been around long enough that they should understand that if they are going to use some of their users to test out an update before making the changes permanent then they should utilize the feedback and respond to it. I mean isn’t that the point of having test dummies?? Especially if those who are testing out the update did not volunteer to be testers! and to top it all off, according to Gross, it wasn’t just me who when I clicked on the link that was supposedly going to help “guide” me through the changes all I got was a blank page.

According to Gross, the whole purpose of this change is to try to draw people away from Facebook and toward Google+ but I have to say, if this is the way their going about it, I don’t foresee Facebook users jumping to make the switch.